The games are over and the medals have all been awarded. Many of the athletes will have to wait 4 more years for their chance at Paralympic glory and for many their final opportunity may have slipped by…

The BC1 individual event was won by David Smith, Smith had a disappointing results in his pool matches that meant he had to beat Pataya Tadtong in the quarter finals, Won Jeong Yoo in the semi finals and Daniel Perez in the final to earn his gold. The bronze medal was eventually won by Won Jeong Yoo.

Watcharaphon Vongsa won an all Thai final against Worawut Saengampa. As predicted before the games the Thai team were dominant in the BC2 category with China’s Zhiqiang Yan winning bronze.

Ho Won Jeong got over the disappointment of missing out on gold in the BC3 pairs competition to win gold in the individual. He was too strong for Greg Polychronidis who had a solid competition but was unable stop the Korean. Jose Carlos Macedo was taken to a tie break before he was able to claim the bronze with Han Soo Kim just missing out.

Samuel Andrejcik was hoping to make it 2 golds out of 2 in Rio but Yuk Wing Leung had different ideas. He came from behind to take gold leaving Andrejcik with silver. Pornchock Larpyen beat Hyeonseok Seo 8-1 to win bronze.

The Paralympic closing ceremony will take place on Sunday night at the Maracana Stadium from 20:00 (local time).

Previous Next
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this